The bird who became a bard

birdonthewire is now bardonthewire. I was pleasantly surprised to find that userID was available. I think it’s really cool, don’t you? 🙂 LJ will continue to be my primary platform, but given the increasing frequency of the DDOS attacks, I have decided to backup my journal on WordPress as well. Twice before, I have lost content on the web – the first time, about 7 years ago when postmark.net shutdown without a warning and I lost all my old mails, and the second time – two months back, when Google Videos shutdown, with a warning, albeit.

Importing from LJ to WordPress wasn’t quite a breeze, but it wasn’t too much of a bother either. Used WordPress’ native import utility – it’s a little iffy, but got the job done, after 3-4 attempts. There were some issues in importing the comments and I had to manually delete a few comments that got replicated several times. Many of the comments have been anonymized which rather sucks, but I guess I can live with that.

Unfortunately, there isn’t any good cross-posting tool that will help me do a one-click update of LJ and WordPress. The best I have found is Windows LiveWriter which helps me update both, but I have to select each journal separately. Testing that out right now with this post – while it’s not ideal, looks like there isn’t any better alternative. In any case, I blog very little these days – so it’s not such a big deal.

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Could you also tellme how to do this BontheW? I am doing posts twice over, right now, to back them up on WP.

    Call me when you are free.

    • You can download Windows LiveWriter online – http://explore.live.com/windows-live-writer?os=other

      It might download a few other useful apps too, but I think you can choose to install only livewriter if that’s all you want. You need to set up both blogs initially after installation (you will be prompted for that). Every time you post, you can select the blog which you need to update. While you can’t select both at the same time, you can select one, publish; then select the next, publish.

      Will see you at the quiz tomorrow anyway, so we can discuss there too!

Leave a Reply

