2011 resolutions – status check

At the beginning of this year, I took a few resolutions. First time in my life that I took a few resolutions actually – given, we are just past the midpoint, a good time to do a status check on my progress.

My resolutions, in no particular order:

  • Bring my weight down to 75 kgs by June 2011
  • I was 84 kgs in December. Down to 79 now. So, while I didn’t quite hit 75, reasonable progress has been made. And I am hopeful I will be down to 75 by end August.

  • Learn to cook at least 5 dishes.
  • Shamefully, I only made Pongal once. Can’t say I know to cook it either. Not all is lost, for this was in any case an end of the year goal. So, I can still get there!

  • Write at least 100 pages of fiction by June 2011
  • One short story, a couple of poems, and took an online writing course. Nowhere near 100 pages of fiction. A miss again. But post the writing course, I do feel like I am writing better. I need to write lots more, the next few months.

  • Help more at home – time with Namita
  • Did that for the first 3 months. The last 3 months, this has slipped a bit. Mostly because A’s mom was here and I ended up wasting more time on FB. This should work out fine going forward, I think.

  • Learn R – basic familiarity by Feb, more complex stuff by May
  • Installed R! 🙂 Doesn’t look like I am heading anywhere with this one. We shall see.

  • Run 5 kms at a stretch – June 2011
  • Can do 2-2.5 kms if I will it, I think. The best I have done is probably 2 kms. Not quite there with this, but I don’t enjoy running much, so I am not sure if I will focus on this.

  • Less social media, more music – real listening, that is.
  • Hmm…less said the better. But I did listen to a little more music than the year before.

  • Carpool/take the bus to work at least 4 times every month
  • This has worked out well. With the new job, I also tend to work from home 2-3 times a week. So, my petrol footprint is certainly down!

So, at the half-way stage, I have been on target with one goal, lagged on 4 goals, and lagged significantly on 3 goals. All these goals still stay mostly relevant – so I guess, I at least chose the right goals!

Posted on July 4, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can’t believe you are tracking your progresses :-). Way to go.

  2. Not really tracking, just an update. 🙂 But yes, at least helps keep the intent strong!

Leave a Reply

