Books in 2009…

So, what books did I read this year? Here’s what I can recall. A couple of these could be books I actually read in 2008, but I am not really sure.

Update: – So, I remembered I hadn’t mentioned Anil’s Ghost here. A Michael Ondatjee book – beautifully written, even though it was yet another book I had to read 15 pages at a time. Come to think of it, 2009 was a slow reading year.
Fiction

  • Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials Trilogy – that’s 3 books
  • Morris West’s The Ambassador and The Tower of Babel
  • Mohammed Haneef’s A Case of Exploding Mangoes
  • Vikram Seth’s Two Lives
  • Neil Gaiman’s Stardust
  • The 4th book in George Martin’s Song of Ice & Fire series
  • Ernst Hemingway’s For Whom the Bell Tolls
  • A couple of Agatha Christie books I don’t remember the names of…

Non-Fiction

  • Leadership Jazz
  • The Nudge – still reading…
  • The Seven Day Weekend
  • Direct From Dell
  • The Ascent of Money
  • iWoz

Unfinished books included:

  • John Grisham’s The Associate
  • Arun Krishnan’s The Loudest Firecracker
  • Umberto Eco’s Baudolino
  • Robert Pirsig’s Lila
  • Chris Anderson’s The Long Tail
  • Beyond Buzz

My top 2 fiction & non-fiction picks for this year – Fiction: For Whom the Bell Tolls, The Tower of Babel; Non-fiction: Leadership Jazz, The Ascent of Money.

Worst book of the year – The Associate.

Looking back, I have averaged more than a book a month, but a shade less than 2 books a month. Two books a month is my goal for 2010 – seems doable. Given that there are already a number of books lying unread in my bookshelves, I guess I should also cut down on any new purchases – as hopeless as that particular goal is.

Posted on December 30, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wishing you a LOT of good reading in TwentyTen BontheW!

Leave a Reply

