Walking in a market…

Yesterday, after what seems like ages, A & I walked around the Jayanagar 4th block  Shopping Complex area. Did nothing in particular – ate boiled groundnuts, popcorns and would have had cotton candy if the power hadn’t gone off. Bought a couple of VCDs, and then a good dinner at Krishi. Original plan was to take a short hour and half break, but we ended up being there for almost 2.5-3 hrs. Was good.

A walk in a market on a day with perfect weather just feels so much more better than time out in a mall. 

Lights out in the market; 
the young couple take in the night
sequestered from the crowd.

Posted on June 29, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I used to eat so much of peanuts as a kid…somewhere as I was growing up, my body started rejecting it…so now I cant even touch the peanut shell without getting rash on my skin. 😦 I used to love them so much as a kid and still I do.

    • Gee, that’s too bad! 😦 At some point, we all are forced to give up something, I guess. Cholestrol does it for most people these days! 🙂

      • Yes we are…but I was forced to give up…so I guess I am attracted or crave more towards them…just like sin food! you know! 😉

  2. you are not young anymore 😛

    -deepa

  3. When I first bought peanuts here in Bangalore, I didn’t know they were boiled. My mother, who was visiting, thought they got wet in the rain (it was raining that day).

    I think here (and TN as well) is where you get them boiled. The rest of India pretty much roasts the groundnuts as is (in coarse sand), and you can watch the Arabian Sea or sit by Humayun’s tomb cracking those, selecting the good peanuts, and popping them into the mouth, also adding a pinch of the salt-chili mix they give you :-).

    • You get roasted here too. But I prefer the boiled ones. I find them more tasty for some reason. Roased or boiled, nothing beats sitting by the sea munching away! 🙂

      Aside, with buttas, it’s the other way around. I like the boiled ones, but prefer the roasted ones. Unfortunately the roasted ones tend to get stuck between the teeth!

Leave a Reply

