Random update – #whatever…

The past 2 months have been fairly good reading months. I read Two Lives and For Whom the Bell Tolls, am half-way through Direct From Dell and am about 40 pages into Somerset Maugham’s Don Fernando. In addition, I also managed to do both bits and pieces of other reading, which makes me a happy cookie.

This, of course, meant that I had to make my visit to Church street again. Yesterday’s haul included two Morris West books (haven’t read Morris West in the longest time, and seems like a good time to revisit some of his writing), the first two books from Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights trilogy, Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, Steve Wozniak’s iWoz and Malcolm Bradbury’s Rates of Exchange. In addition, Aparna bought Bill Bryson’s A short history of nearly everything, and Amitav Ghosh’s Sea of Poppies. A good haul, and sets me back even further in catching up with my own books!

My book shelf is an almighty mess now, and am running out of space as well – one of these days, I need to organize it again, and I suppose, get another book shelf. In fact, am thinking about a whole bunch of things I need to “dispose/refresh” at home – move to LCD/plasma TV from my regular flat screen one, a new music system, replace dad’s car, paint the house anew with a bit of the Royale thing thrown in, get some new furniture – seems like the right time to do my bit for India’s consumption story though doing all of the above will blow a huge hole in the pocket. Let’s see.

A & kiddo are off to Delhi for about 3 weeks, shortly – wondering what to do with the next 2 weekends. I desperately need to get out of Blr myself – hopefully, I can get an overnight trek thing to happen with the office gang.

Posted on April 13, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

