New Year Update….

I seem to have grown weary of emails – writing in general.  Can’t seem to summon the desire or the will to reply to long pending mails, send new year wishes, acknowledge/comment on interesting posts, whatever else. A passing phase, I hope. 

The holidays were good, though the year didn’t begin all that well. Dec 20 – 27, I lazed at home, played tennis, watched Ghajini, read books, saw TV, blah blah. 28th – 1st, I was off to Coastal Karnataka on a vacation with family – parents, in-laws, wife and kid. Hit the beaches of Gokarna, Karwar, Kumta, Udupi, Murdeshwar, St. Mary’s island, and appeased the Gods as well – Mookambika, Udupi Krishna, and various other temples along the way. Woke up at 5:30  on 1st Jan with an uneasy stomach and ended up spending the rest of the day and the next, dealing with a bad case of food poisoning. The virus spread from me to N, and we had to admit her on 3rd after she threw up just about anything we fed her. Still recovering – it’s a sad sight to see an energetic little devil looking downright weary ten minutes after she starts playing. Hopefully, she will be in fine fettle in a day or two. 

The trip ended up being far more hectic than I had planned for. I enjoyed it anyway, as did the grandparents, but A didn’t have much fun, what with having to feed the baby every 3 hours or so. I thought with the grandparents around, it woudn’t be that difficult, but it still was. She didn’t help herself much, carrying exam papers to correct during the trip. Some people are way too dedicated. Stupidly so, at times πŸ™‚ Next time, I have to make sure she doesn’t carry work along.  

Back to the grind now. It’s always tough getting back to work after a long vacation. My vacations are far and few between, and that makes it doubly difficult getting the work groove back on. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2008 was a good year at work, and even more so at home.  The highlight , of course, was N. Other minor things to be proud of (which, in other years would have been major things :-0)  – I managed to shed a few kilos, dropped below 80  for the first time in 2 years. The goal is to lose another 5 kilos now. Managed to keep my morning tennis routine going right through the year, though the winter’s seen me becoming much more irregular. Kept the treks going, in fact, I did more treks this year than ever before. Hope to sustain that in 2009 too.  Did reasonable justice to movies and books, though I should probably read a bit more. Misses – some misses at work, almost zilch creative writing,  hardly any travel, and lots of wasted weekends. 

Hmm…despite my lamentations, I seem to have rambled quite a bit. πŸ™‚ Belated new year wishes, all. Have a good 2009! 

Posted on January 8, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think you have done VERY well for 2009; been true to yourself and your goals.

    Hope Namita is better now…felt worried to read it.

    • Danke! I never set goals, that way I never fail πŸ™‚

      Namita’s better now. She was all smiles y’day night. Hopefully, should be scampering around the room today. πŸ™‚

  2. Congrats on the weight loss and a happy new year to you, A and N! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

