Namita…

Her little chest crushing
against mine, head bobbing
from my shoulders, eyes
peering this way-then that, she
stares in smiling intensity
at patterns indiscernible
to world weary eyes like mine.

A yawn escapes, she rests
her cheeks on my shoulders and
I get the goose bumps even
as she drifts, ever so gently,
into some languid sleep.

I rock her to and fro, sing
made up lullabies, walk
across to the  balcony, open
the faucet and the sudden hiss
of cold water startles
her awake; beaming, she breaks
into a smile so wide, this
everyday moment transforms
into surreal contentment.

Posted on September 24, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I think you should either bring her over to visit, or let us visit her.

    what lovely lines, Father. I am smiling in my heart now.

    • 🙂 Danke! You are welcome anytime! And yes, will try to come over as well!

      Btw, just quoted your PJs at the office – neighbour claims they are by far, they are the worst he’s heard yet. The Bunshankari one is a total riot!

  2. cute … I want to see her too 😀

  3. Send me pictures

  4. What an apt post for me…:-) Thanks for sharing.

  5. nice 🙂
    From ‘bhang’ed out at ISB to a differnt kind of contentment … Arun forever 🙂

Leave a Reply

