Arbit Observations on singing…

I don’t often listen to songs carefully. But when I do, there’s usually something that leaves me marvelling at the singer’s craftsmanship, if that is the word to use. Take this song “oru deivam thantha poove”, for example. One of those songs I have listened to so many times, and on most days, in my top 10-15 Rahman songs. Just listened to it again today, and this time, carefully. Chinmayi sings it very well, but what I found particularly fascinating was the way she sang “nee”. The word comes often in the song, with different accentuations. Deep sometimes, wavy sometimes, and sort of a hurried semicolon at others.

I am probably the worst singer around, so all this is with the usual disclaimer on ignorance & half baked knowledge, of course.

Posted on March 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

