Before dinner…

I slump in, slouching
worn out by the drive
from hell. She beams
and hugs, while my eyes
catch the remote.
The TV beeps, and I tune
into Serena playing Henin.
She gets my coffee,
sits beside & begins

stories of little kids,
their antics and follies,
and while I pretend
to care a damn,
the tales register,
and like a sardar,
20 seconds after, she catches
me smiling, and piqued,
wonders “what the..”,
but smart ass that I am,
I play act “oh, nothing,
nothing at all”.

She grumbles, and says,
“stupid, how was your day?”

I begin “hmm…”,and that’s
all there is to it.
Pray, what can you say
about a presentation made,
a model built,
even in being mistaken
for a risk management guru
– bah, who gives a damn?

But kids, they
make your day,
even
when you don’t
have them around.

Posted on July 5, 2007, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. “being mistaken for a management guru”…what’s THAT! would love to hear about it…

    • “risk management guru”, not management guru 🙂 Nothing really, I do risk mgmt at work these days, just exaggerated a bit 🙂

      • Well…I *would* still like to hear about it. Why do you assume that things that happen to you at work won’t be interesting to others?

        I think you just inspired another post…but don’t be so self-effacing, and do tell me (in a separate email if you like) what happened, oh fake RMG (risk management guru)!

  2. sweet 🙂

  3. Thanks, deponti! 🙂 Your words encourage me, as always!

  4. you’re cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

