A camera, a router and two kitchen appliances…

Based on

‘s &

‘s recommendations, I finally ended up purchasing the Canon S3 IS. I even got a couple of filters on a whim, though I haven’t used them yet. It turned out to be a bit pricey, after I threw in a camera bag, the filters, rechargeable batteries and the charger. Should have got it online much earlier, and I would have saved 50-60$ at least, but what the heck.

From the limited shooting I have done so far, I am quite happy with the results, though there are some issues. A few observations:

Pros

  • The close-up shots were fantastic. Compared to my HPR707, this was in another league.
  • Much more detail/effect in the pictures. When I took pictures of the waterfalls in Yosemite, in a few of the snaps even the water drops showed up starkly. And this was simply in the auto setting. I think there’s a lot more “effect” possible once I figure out how to use this better.
  • In bright light, the photos positively radiate happiness, if such a thing is possible!

Cons

  • When the weather was cloudy, the photos weren’t all that good. But maybe that’s a setting thing. I haven’t really played with any of the settings yet, so maybe that’s not a camera problem as such. And most likely, any other camera I would have got the same results.
  • It takes a while to zoom into the object at higher zoom settings (> 6-7x typically). That’s a bit disorienting, for a few seconds there’s this blur before the object comes into focus. 
  • I don’t like it that I have to pull out the preview screen. That’s a pain, but hopefully, I should get used to it

Haven’t taken any night photos yet, so remains to be seen how that turns out.

I also got a NetGear router, but forgot to get the universal power supply, so now I don’t know what to do with it. Is there a place in Blr where I can get a reliable universal power supply that will work with the NetGear router?

And for once, a kitchen appliance I got was a hit with A & amma. It’s this really simple vegetable chopper that has two extremely sharp blades with a simple mechanical gear cover/lid. You rotate the lid, the gears kick into effect, and the blades chop the vegetable haphazardly. It’s not suitable for all vegetables and if you need uniform pieces, but works like a dream for cutting tomatoes for rasam, onions in salads, raitha etc.

I also got a more sophisticated chopper that cuts stuff into uniform pieces, but that looks like it’s not going to be used much. Maybe I will have to help out in the kitchen a bit more to put that to use. 🙂

Posted on May 21, 2007, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. For the netgear power adapter, here’s what you can do:
    Note down the output voltage and the wattage of the adapter. It will read something like “5 volts, 500 mA”. Go to SJP road in bangalore and ask for an adapter that has the same matching output. Also ensure that the plug that attaches to the router from the power supply is the same, and the + and – connections are similar. (It is usually – on the outside, and positive in the inner pin).

Leave a Reply

