Two books…

Quite enjoyed the last two books I finished, “The River Sutra”, and now, “The Rule of Four”.

Enjoyed all the stories in The River Sutra. All of them fit in well, and often, I felt like I was actually there, by The Narmada. Of all our great rivers, it’s the river I know the least about, but by the time I was done, I had formed for myself, an image of the Narmada that makes me want to visit one of its banks at some point. Gita Mehta is a fine writer.

The Rule of Four, engrossing, and a bit difficult to read as well. It tries to be two things at the same time – on one hand, it’s a detective work, unlocking the secrets of the “Hypnerotomachia Poliphili”, but on the other hand, it’s also about the relationships between the protagonists. The first part works magnificently, the second less so, and towards the end, I just wanted the authors to get on with it, and finish the damn thing. Some of the metaphors and similies were also a bit of a stretch to get.

I think I might have an idea on what I want to do with drupal. Work’s been rather slow the last couple of weeks, hopefully, things will get busy again next week.

Posted on November 16, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

