Proposal blues,drupal(!) and a quiz…

Writing/making a proposal calls for a certain set of ‘left brain’ skills that I just don’t possess. Painstaking labour is the result. Once upon a time, I used to think making proposal ppts is terribly boring and painful. I still think so, with the caveat that it is so only for me. I guess the thing is it is so for me, because it doesn’t come naturally.

I get these techie urges off and on. Sometimes they pass, sometimes they don’t. When they don’t, they are partially painful, partially satisfying. So, I installed xampp and drupal on my laptop over the last 5-6 days. Took a while to get drupal working with those configuration files and dependencies on the xampp apache, but yesterday, google helped me fix the most troublesome issue. But, I don’t know what to do, now that it is working. I don’t know PHP, so there is not much I can do with it, unless I decide to learn it. Good joke. I guess, a month later, I will unistall both. Lol, I am such an ass sometimes.

Won yesterday’s quiz at the office (the “friday fun” thing I have written about earlier). Two more free movie tickets, that’s the good part. The bad part is I need to do something next friday. Last time, the jumble thing was well received. Wonder what I should do this time. I don’t want to do a quiz, ‘cos it’s not really too popular, though it suits me fine. I guess the thing is people want to have half an hour’s fun, and tough to crack trivia is not really the idea of fun for most people. Any ideas? Only criteria is it should be a game simple enought that it can be played online (in a chat room), and it shouldn’t take me more than half an hour to prepare for it. πŸ™‚

Today afternoon, I should get my cycle, hopefully.

Posted on October 28, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Try this game called Taboo!

  2. 1.I disagree with your first statement after having read two of the things you wrote. It’s writing as WORK which puts you off, methinks!

    2. If you get your cycle…do come on over…I will get out my SLR (that stands for Shaky Little Rattletrap)

    3. Taboo is fun (what has suggested…but can lead to arguments too! Does no one do crosswords any more? Or you could have the same Scrabble tiles and a set line and see who scores the most points…or SuDoKu (not too complicated though)…or Tangram…or a combination of all of these…

    • 1) That is generous of you. But no, seriously, I do find putting proposals together difficult despite my best efforts! It’s not that it doesn’t come out well, sometimes it comes out quite well, it’s just that I take the twice the time everyone else takes!

      2) Will do. Long pending. I got the cycle, btw. A Hercules Hurricane which I ride at 1/100th the speed. πŸ™‚

      3) Sudoku, me no dig. Crosswords/scrabble sound like a good idea. Let me see.

  3. Enjoy the bicycle :-).

    Reminds me of the time I used to cycle around 10 kms every morning and even got addicted to it :-). I should buy a bicycle too!!!!

  4. I want a ride on your bicycle.

    And I’ve figured making proposals/documentation can become a fun process once you have a decent enough picture of what is being explained and who it is being explained to.

    • πŸ™‚ Drop in home. Been a while too.

      Structuring the “The decent enuf picture” is the difficult part, my friend. The other difficult part is putting the picture in pretty boxes and circles, which is I guess the same thing as the previous point! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

