A happy customer care experience

It’s not often that one can talk about a happy customer care experience, so having experienced one a couple of days back, I suppose it’s just that I document it here for posterity πŸ™‚

I have this new Compaq laptop, which came installed with FreeDos (!), and had been lying unused at home for quite a while. (Why it was lying unused is another story, shall save it for some other day). Last weekend, after A mentioned that she would like to start using it, I decided to install XP Home edition on it. Everything went off smoothly, and I was quite happy. Then, my dad tried to play a song, and next thing I know, I realized that the audio drivers had not been installed. Left it at that, since I wasn’t on the net then.

On Monday, I came home a little early, and decided to hunt around for the right drivers. Spent over an hour on the net, and after a couple of near misses (Microsoft had stopped making those drivers available for download), was about to give up, when I decided to check the HP portal. Somewhere there, found a link to “online technical assistance”, and thought what the heck, let me give that a try too. At that time of the night, 9 PM, the Asia Pac support team was not available, so thought I would give a shot at getting some help from the NA team (who were probably in Bangalore anyway!).

I got online with a lady named Betty, who was nice enough to offer to help though the online assistance was meant to be for only NA Business PC customers. After a couple of minutes of talking, she understood my problem. And as I was talking to her, I also realized that not just the audio drivers, even the video drivers, USB drivers etc had not been installed. Told her that, and one by one, she gave me the links to the right drivers for my laptop, and over the next 20 minutes, I downloaded all of them. Uninstalled the old drivers, installed the new ones, and everything worked like a charm. Boy, was I grateful or what!

My best experience with customer service yet. I had tried it for a lark, and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

Buy HP laptops, people. πŸ˜‰

Posted on October 11, 2006, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sunil B

    Dude…One of the strong points of HP has been its customer care. I guess it would help if you put it on our portal somewhere.. customer champion or something like that.

  2. Heartening just to read that post!

Leave a Reply

