Movies, LPs and a nice weekend.

Long time since I had been to National Market. Went there on Saturday, and returned with a rich haul of 12 DVDs (17 movies), mostly English classics, 1 documentary, a couple of Hindi classics, and a few recent Hindi movies.

Those magnificient men and their flying machines, 12 angry men, Mary Poppins, the Poseidon adventure, Unforgiven, Schindler’s list, Dog Day Afternoon, Before Sunset, Chali Ka Naam Gaadi, Half Ticket etc.

After that, we went to Avenue road, a place I have never been to before. It’s quite a road, really. I went there to get an old gramaphone(!) repaired. A couple of months ago, Appa had mentioned that my grandfather’s gramaphone was still at home. I retrieved it, but never got around to fixing it till yesterday. Quite a few LP records are also at home. The guy has promised to fix it by this Saturday, hopefully it will work well. Would be nice to give some of those old records a hearing. I wonder how the quality of the audio would be. The chap also told me he had about 30,000 or so LP records in case I wished to buy any. Bloody amazing. Maybe I will buy a few. Most of the ones at home are devotional records, and not really my cup of chai.

Yesterday was dad’s birthday, and we went out for lunch. I got pulled over by the police for taking a wrong turn, and had to shell out 150 bucks. That ruined the lunch. Good weekend overall, though.

Posted on October 9, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lovely to have a period piece repaired and working, I only hope the guy actually comes and does the job!

Leave a Reply

