World Space, home office and such…

So, I went ahead and got the World Space subscription for a year, though I haven’t really been listening to it much.

Occasionally, I take customer calls from home. Since I haven’t been that busy the last few months, have had to take calls late at night or early in the morning only on a few occasions. Then there have been a few occasions when I have worked from home, usually because I have been sick, sometimes sick at the thought of spending an hour and half in peak hour traffic.

Have realized that usually, I am not all that productive from home, but on the days I am productive, I am more productive than when I work at the office. The unproductivity is largely self-caused, I seem to find a way to distract myself at home in some way or the other. But there are a few things that help me focus on work better. One being, sitting at my desk fully dressed, in formal wear, so to speak. When I am in my shorts or sneakers, I tend not to work. When I am in my Indian Terrain trouser, I tend to work well. So too with crumpled t-shirts/vests viz-a-viz an Allen Solly shirt. No logical reason, just some psychological shit, I guess.

I made an LJ book of all my old posts today, and forgot to save it. It was strange reading a few of the posts I made when at ISB. Naive, passionate, hopeful. It is a good thing that the first has disappeared, but it isn’t so good that the next two seem to be on the decline too.

Shruti@worldspace.com is rather delightful, most times. The other channel I dig quite a bit is Maestro (Western Classical). A week ago, for 15 minutes I was listening to a musical rendition of “Peter and the …something” featuring a boy named Peter, a pigeon, a wolf, a duck, a cat, Peter’s grandfather etc. Each character was represented by an instrument. Peter’s dialogues for instance by all the strings in the orchestra, the duck by the oboe, the pigeon by the flute, guns by the drums and so on. The voiceover was by Sir John Gielgud. I kind of lost patience after 20 minutes, but for the first 15 minutes, it was quite fascinating.

I don’t seem to listen much to the other channels, occasionally Up Country maybe. I guess, as I tire of violins and veenas, I should listen to the others too.

Posted on July 17, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Is Worldspace a paid radio/music channel?

    “I made an LJ book of all my old posts today, and forgot to save it. It was strange reading a few of the posts I made when at ISB. Naive, passionate, hopeful. It is a good thing that the first has disappeared, but it isn’t so good that the next two seem to be on the decline too.”
    Where and how do you make an LJ book?
    And hey, I identify with what you have to say about old posts, what we were yesterday!

    • http://www.ljbook.com/ – Basically a pdf of all your posts, with the comments.

      Yeps, Worldspace is a paid radio channel. Satellite radio, about 40 channels, mostly music, a bit of news/current affairs, spiritual etc. You need a separate receiver & antenna for it. Good stuff, and they don’t repeat much. At least, haven’t noticed yet! 🙂

  2. I don’t seem to listen much to the other channels, occasionally Up Country maybe. I guess, as I tire of violins and veenas, I should listen to the others too.

    Same here 🙂 Mostly Carnatic and when it gets boring, switch to Jazz and then to Up Country. I rarely ever listen to Maestro for there is very little compereing to help me ‘understand’ what is going on (I’m no western classical guy).

    Also, ‘The System’ (Electronic Music) is good if you are planning to have a psychedellic party with your friends 😉

    • Oh, in my case, I don’t understand either :)!! Just enjoy listening to it. And the major cause of my fascination with Maestro is, I guess, Vikram Seth’s book “An Equal Music”. It kind of left a huge impression.

      Not really into Electronic or psychedellic stuff, I am afraid :). Should try Jazz sometime though.

Leave a Reply

