Jogo bonito…

‘Twas wonderful to watch Zinedine Zidane roll back the years on Saturday. A pity Brazil going out, but truly they were terribly disappointing. I doubt Zizou will get the same kind of space when France play Portugal, so it will be interesting to see how they cope. I think they will need a big game from Vieira to come through that one. I don’t think much of Vieira, but so far, he’s proved me wrong this World Cup.

Posted on July 3, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. of all the teams i rooted for at this world cup, only portugal remains now that both spain and argentina have left. this should be the semi-final to watch 🙂

  2. Hi arun /any1 else who may read this,
    Sorry for barging in… I’ve been a passive reader of your (Arun’s) journal. Good job…
    BTW, I’ve recently moved into Blore… Any suggestions for a decent Broadband connection? BSNL forces a b-fone on me, SIFY is hopeless I hear… Airtel doesnt serve the area where I am (around Madiwala)… Any suggestions would be appreciated…

    -G

  3. Zidane and the old guard

    Corny as it sounds, “cometh the hour, cometh the man”.
    I think the resurgence of France and it’s old warhorses – Zidane and Vieira – has probably been one of the major surprises of this Cup.
    But an all-European line-up at the WC semifinals feels rather strange/unusual. I don’t think anyone would have foreseen Brazil and Argentina being knocked out so early.

    • Re: Zidane and the old guard

      Yeah, doubt anyone would have. Just Brazil’s luck they had to play an inspired France in the quarters. A pity they aren’t around at least for the semis.

      But I am just glad to see Zidane at his best, one last time.

Leave a Reply

