A house without a TV…

Sitting in a house without a TV and a music system feels very weird.

Two years of continuous travel have left me with a massive hangover. The older I get, the less I want to see the world. Not that I have seen much. I so want to build a life in Bangalore now. Hopefully, work and the people around me will conspire to let that happen.

Have been reading a few of Tagore’s essays of late. Called “Sadhana”, they are so beautifully written, it is easy to see why he won the Nobel. More importantly, it is easy to see why he was called Gurudev, and why Bengalis worship him so. I now have vol-2 and vol-4 of the Tagore omnibus, and I think I will buy 1 and 3 soon enough. A & I have developed this nice habit of reading out passages from the book to each other, once in a while. It feels good, hopefully, we will contine doing so even after the TV arrives.

Between Tagore, E.F. Schumacher, Gandhi and Thoreau, I think I have found my personal philosophy. When I will live it is the question.

February has been an eventful month. But more on that, later.

Posted on February 26, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Shaadi waadi kya?

  2. I feel that , in a house without a TV you learn a lot.
    In the past 5 months, i achieved a lot that could not have been done had there been a cable connection.

    Also, the same thing which was enlightening 5 months before on TV now looks nearly useless and utter crap.

    • You are probably right. But I think I will still end up getting one. And hopefully, not watch cable! πŸ™‚

      • TV helps you define where you don’t want to go

        I watch Star Plus every once in a while for the sheer jaw drop value : from the sheer repulsive impulse force generated by the soup of jealousy, comparison, and vindictiveness in the K serials. πŸ™‚

        Very nice post, by the way! Wonder if I get my hands on Tagore books in HK…

      • Re: TV helps you define where you don’t want to go

        Sorry about the much delayed reply. Just managed to get online after over a week. Shall mail later.

  3. Screw the TV. It’s not worth it.

  4. >> The older I get, the less I want to see the world. Not that I have seen much. I so want to build a life in Bangalore now

    With you 100% on that! Am there and thinking the same thing πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I guess, after a certain point, that’s what at least some of us end up feeling.

      Saw on your blog that you had visited ISB for recruitments. Where do you work? Liked the 3 things you told your friend about what he will learn during the MBA. Quite true, though #1 happens only for a few.

  5. How come Bala and yourselves mention nothing about your marriages? (Congratulations by the way). It’s like one of the biggest most life changing events of your lives happen and you guys talk about lack of music systems and the state of the McDonald burger!!!

    You nut πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

