The Good life…

So I played her some Irish music over the phone. Pachebel Cannon – Harp & Flute, Fuck you I am drunk, and then, Gaelic Storm’s She was the prize. Listening to “She was the prize”, she tells me, “Very nice. You know the instrumentals are kind of slow paced, but he sings fast. A nice contrast.” Strange, I must have heard the song a million times before, and I haven’t ever noticed that. Really, I must learn to be more observant. Or maybe, it just takes a woman to notice that sort of thing. I must tell you, that Harp and Flute piece is splendid. Nay, much beyond that. I bought myself a new headphone. And it sounds even better now.

Something else I have noticed of late. I don’t arrange the songs in my media player. And I don’t maintain playlists. So generally, they are all mixed up. A Mozart, an Irish folk number, an Indian classical piece, a Rahman number, an Ilayaraja number all juxtaposed together. Often, I don’t seem to mind it at all. Sometimes, it even seems perfectly natural. Inexplicable.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Diwali is a splendid sight here. The road’s decked up like a bride – those serial bulbs all over the place, shops decorated gorgeously, the bazaar smells good, pretty women walk around shopping for trinkets, dry fruits piled together like small mountains, fruit baskets in eye catching contours, happy faces all around. Can’t but lift one’s spirits. It’s been a long time since I truly celebrated Diwali. Any festival, for that matter. This time, the omens are good. I feel generous. Yes, the good life, indeed.

Some time still, I know, but the moment’s right for me. Who knows what Monday brings. So here’s to a wonderful wonderful Diwali for you all. If you light a sudharshan chakra, light one for me too.

Posted on October 28, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. And we await Christmas to lift our spirits!
    By the way when is Diwali being celebrated in India?

    • πŸ™‚ Here’s hoping Christmas comes along sooner than it seems! I always enjoy Christmas. In the South, that’s the best time of the year, though it will probably be much colder up here in the North.

      Diwali is on 1st Nov. And Eid on 4th. The whole of next week is a holiday for most people here. So, though I will be working, it feels like a holiday anyway! πŸ™‚

  2. Nice! Good to know you had one of those good days.

  3. Happy Diwali!

  4. i can guess who was on the other end of the phone πŸ˜‰
    btw, i’m thrilled if she shares your choice in music…

    have a great diwali! i’d be sure to light one big cracker for you. somehow diwali down south is subdued, not like in my native punjab or delhi.

  5. the little joys of friendship over the miles? πŸ™‚

  6. happy diwali!

  7. heh, your playlist sounds like a very tasty hodgepode! Why don’t you post the whole playlist ek baar? Would love to peek. :))

    Yep, this Diwali feels good! The beneficence extends even as far as here.
    Happy Diwali. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

