How to kill time on a hot Saturday evening in Meerut…

I can almost imagine it
She wants me to sweep
Her off her feet
Buy her that unexpected gift
Dance her into the mist

We swapped passion for a family,
and now the barter has gone awry.
I see that daily, in those eloquent eyes
that may not be cold, nor moist,
but, which do not speak lies.

As I pull our car into the parking lot
I can’t but wonder about the rot
And as I climb the stairs,
I work myself into a sweat.
Only to lose the goddamn plot.

We make our dinner,
We scrub our plates.
We watch our soaps,
We make our beds.
She sleeps.

And I feel her boring eyes
and think of all those lies
that swept us off our feet.
Those eyes, those lies.
Lies, lies, lies.

Posted on June 20, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Awesome!
    I could imagine the setting!

  2. that’s really nice and eloquent.

  3. owww…That’s like 450 million Indian marriages in one poem man.
    :>

  4. Its not as bad as that…

    Its upto the 2 people in a marriage to make it as exciting as the dating phase was!

Leave a Reply

