Met dsvikki yesterday. Bought a couple of second hand books on MG Road as I was waiting for him to arrive, and after he arrived, we snacked at India Coffee House, and then I introduced him to Church Street’s gift to Bangalore – Blossoms. And all it took was an introduction, to dig a small hole in his pocket. And alas, in mine as well! Blossoms is even better than it was, the last time I was there. Somewhat more expensive than some of the other 2nd hand shops maybe, but it is still a bloody steal. We spent almost an hour there, and then snacked again at Gangotri, where I had Dhokla, after ages.

Here’s the booty:

Darkness at Noon – Arthur Koestler
Heavy Weather – PG Wodehouse
Walden – Thoreau
Lila – Robert Pirsig
Video Night in Kathmandu – Pico Iyer
Lateral Thinking – De Bono
Six Thinking Hats – De Bono

I almost got Primary Colors too, but changed my mind at the last moment. I wonder how many of these are going to end up unread. 😦 And, I didn’t realize Blossoms had a 3rd floor Non Fiction Section too. Thankfully, I didn’t have too much time yesterday, so I just skimmed through it.

Btw, Bala, the fantasy section seems to have expanded greatly in Blossoms. Racks upon racks of fantasy books. You will have fun 🙂

Blossoms is da place!!!

Posted on March 17, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. You bet !! Blossoms is one cool bookstore now. I spend my most of my saturday pre-lunch time between blossoms and crossword.

    BTW, did you notice the poster ads plastered on the walls of blossoms are you are ascending the stairs ?

    • beatzo had posted about it, and I wanted to before I went there, but I was busy chatting with my friend, and while I noticed the posters, I wasn’t really paying attention to it :-(. Next time, I will, if the posters are still up there.

  2. so, ur back in b’lore? hows video night in kathmandu? i read his global soul it was good.

    the first few (1,3,4) sound interesting i will look them up online 🙂

    ~R

  3. Of course Thoreau is extremely thought provoking and the way the book is divided , in a very discreet fashion, is interesting.

    Read the De Bono books when I was relatively young actually. My very MBA type father handed it over to me !

    • 🙂 I liked De Bono’s Six Thinking Hats idea, but it’s a practice thing. And I don’t think I will ever practice it. Still, I find it good to read stuff like this once in a while.

  4. Yeah, I’m just waiting to get back da.. Its been two months since I read books! :((( Even used books are so friggin expensive in the US!

  5. ah, dang, Bangalore has all the action…Poor Hyd… 😦

    A business idea for Bala, you n beatzo to do together : A bookshop-cum-coffee-pub a la Barnes and Noble!!

    • I certainly wouldn’t mind, but I think beatzo would prefer to read his comics, rather than sell them :))

      • ah, that’s where I come in!
        I’ll ensure that the manga exports from Japan are read by the customers, not the management!! :>

Leave a Reply

