The Fish Anthem…

I don’t need no visas
I don’t recognize borders you draw
The Indian OCean or the Arabian Sea
It’s all the same to me.
I go where I want
And I go when I please.
So, tell me Lee,
Wouldn’t you rather be me?

Yes, I have got to watch my back.
Or I will be easy pickings for the pack
But while I don’t mean to be cheesy,
At least they are a different species,
So, tell me Lee,
Wouldn’t you rather be me?

And oh, lest I forget,
I will leave you with one last regret,
I don’t need no education,
I don’t need no thought control.
So, just shut up Lee,
An accept that you would rather be me.

Si, Si.

Hmm…I think that does it. I should avoid the beach.

Posted on February 28, 2005, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I don’t need no education,

    Your double negatives really leave me confused. Great rhyming. Heard of your journal about 6 months ago from a friend page, but found that it has been deleted. I am glad that you have come back. I am just going through your journal.

    • Re: I don’t need no education,

      Thank you. The double negatives are just lines from a Pink Floyd song that I found suitable here.

      • Re: I don’t need no education,

        The double negatives are just lines from a Pink Floyd song that I found suitable here.

        Whatever happened to attributing your sources 😛

      • Re: I don’t need no education,

        Attributing your sources, what’s that? 🙂 As a certain Mr. Anu Malik says, “Inspiration” is the word. 😉

  2. Brought a smile . Write on and do keep visiting the beach. I think it touches your creative nerve!

    • 🙂 Thank you. I doubt I can stay away from the sea in any case!! I guess it’s too much to ask for, but I sure hope it keeps touching that creative nerve. This has been, inarguably, my best-est “poetry” month. Ever.

  3. dont keep away from the beach … lovely post!

    ~Ricercar

  4. beautiful!

    Loved the read…Definitely should be set to a tune and sung!

    • Re: beautiful!

      Hopefully, someone will do that. If I were to even attempt it, I can guarantee you, “beautiful” wouldn’t be even the last word on your mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

