Medicine and Litigation – 2

Funny, how coincidental things can get. Just the other day, I had blogged my thoughts on how increasing litigation could strain the medical profession. Yesterday, the Supreme Court, in a landmark judgement, ruled that Doctors cannot be held criminally liable for any death caused due to negligence.

Professionally, they could be barred from practice, sacked from their job etc, but they cannot be criminally prosecuted. It must have been a difficult decision to make I am sure, but I agree with the SC. I think the odd bad egg does not mean that laws should be overly exacting.

I am not sure if their ruling “qualified the decision”, but I hope they did include certain specific qualifications, which would allow for criminal liability of doctors.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/cms.dll/html/uncomp/articleshow?msid=804727

Just realized that landmark is another word I tend to overuse these days. Blame the KSA elections for that.

Posted on August 6, 2004, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.

