Landmark!!!

Landmark is a dangerous bookshop. Against jace‘s well intentioned advice to leave my credit card behind before entering The Forum, Bala and I foolishly ventured where book-a-holics should fear to tread. I say there should be some sort of statutory warning displayed in places like these – Fantabulous bookshops are injurious to your time and pocket.

Oh well…What’s done is done. I feel better ‘cos Bala and Jace burnt an even bigger hole in their respective pockets! 🙂

In keeping with my current interest in economics, picked up three books that should serve me well for the next month or so.

Small is Beautiful – E.F Schumacher
India’s economy (Some issues and answers) – Shankar Acharya
Vision 2020 – Abdul Kalam and YS Rajan

And as is the norm these days, one fiction to compensate for all this heavy reading. This time around I picked up Umberto Eco’s The Name of The Rose.

So there. I suppose I can now safely say that I am well on my way to lining my bookshelf with a few books I will take quite a while to read. The backlog just keeps increasing. Sigh!

Oh btw, just for the record – What a bookstore!! Beats every other place hollow!

Posted on February 29, 2004, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This is ramki here, from the current batch at ISB. Got here from your comment at my blog and enjoyed reading yours. Especially all the stuff on economics. Can’t agree more about Landmark. David Davidar, when he was in chennai sometime a year back, described the landmark in spencers as the best bookshop in the country. I was reminded of all the time I have spent there. Well, only a month to go before I am back home.

  2. Arun…YS Rajan is my rommie’s (here in Gurgaon) dad :-)…if u wanna ever talk abt all this stuff can hook u up…he’s a nice wise man 🙂

  3. one fiction to compensate for all this heavy reading. This time around I picked up Umberto Eco’s The Name of The Rose.

    That’s some heavy fiction!

Leave a Reply

